The 4th International Forum on the Decommissioning of the Fukushima Daiichi NPS is intended firstly to be an opportunity to gather insights and expertise relative to the Decontamination and Decommissioning (D&D) from the world and to promote the advancement of D&D of Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station (1F) and secondly to disseminate the latest progress and technical achievements of 1F D&D to Japan and abroad. Mutual dialogues between the D&D implementing bodies and local community are encouraged as well in order to foster their awareness for successful and steady 1F decommissioning.


Title The 4th International Forum on the Decommissioning of the Fukushima Daiichi Nuclear Power Station
Date and Venue
August 4, 2019
Tomioka Town Art & Media Center
Tomioka-Town, Fukushima-prefecture, Japan
August 4, 2019 August 5, 2019
Alios Iwaki Performing Arts Center
Iwaki-city, Fukushima-prefecture, Japan
Language English and Japanese
Host Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation(NDF)
Cooperating organizations Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA)
International Research Institute for Nuclear Decommissioning (IRID)
British Embassy, Tokyo                 
Embassy of France in Japan
Embassy of the United States of America, Tokyo
Tokyo Electric Power Company Holdings (TEPCO)
Supported Organizations Cabinet Office, Reconstruction Agency
Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Ministry of Finance
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare
Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism
Ministry of the Environment
Fukushima Prefecture
Iwaki City
Tamura City
Minamisoma City
Kawamata Town
Hirono Town
Naraha Town
Tomioka Town
Kawauchi Village
Okuma Town
Futaba Town
Namie Town
Katsurao Village
Iitate Village
Fukushima University
National Institute of Technology, Fukushima College
The Fukushima Minyu Shinbun
Atomic Energy Society of Japan
Japan Atomic Industry Forum
Organizing Committee
(July, 2019)
(In alphabetical order)

Vincent Hubert Alfred Gorgues
Director for Dismantling and Decommissioning, the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA)

Hideo Ishibashi
President, International Research Institute for Nuclear Decommissioning (IRID)

Hiroshi Ito
Vice President, Fukushima University

Toshio Kodama
President, Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA)

Shunsuke Kondo(Chairman)
President, Nuclear Waste Management Organization of Japan (NUMO)

William D. Magwood IV
Director General, Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development Nuclear Energy Agency (OECE/NEA)

Shigeaki Okajima
President, Atomic Energy Society of Japan(AESJ)

Koji Okamoto
Professor, the University of Tokyo

Akira Ono
President, Fukushima Daiichi D&D Engineering Company(FDEC), Tokyo Electric Power Company (TEPCO HD)

David Peattie
Chief Executive Officer, Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA)

Akio Takahashi
President, Japan Atomic Industrial Forum (JAIF)

Shigeaki Tsunoyama
Director-General for Atomic Energy of Fukushima Prefecture

Mike Weightman
Visiting Professor, Engineering Department, Cambridge University

William (Ike) White
Senior Advisor for Environmental Management to the Under Secretary for Science, Department of Energy (DOE)

Osamu Yamashita
President, National Institute of Technology, Fukushima College